... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: grazing goslings

Um, bigger in large... and fluffier.

I don't know why I find this so amusing... Try to imagine the introduction of a song playing; imagine that the three in the back are facing away from the audience waiting to sing backup for the lead singer in front? They'd all spin around together (although, at this stage at least one would fall over...), and start singing the Marmoset Song.

Either that, or they're just grazing in a cute arrangement.

Human behaviour
I was crouching very close to the goose family this morning (before this photograph), and they were being very calm. The parents was aware of me, but had settled after my initial approach. We were in the corner of the pond closest to the road (but with fences on two sides); a man appeared about 15m away, walking along the pavement with his terrier, and (of course) the mother goose started honking, and the goslings stood up tall and alert. What ensued demonstrated perfectly the tendency for (some) people to assume that it is only ever someone else's fault:
The man said, "You're too close to them, mate; you're scaring them..."
Me, "I've been here for 15 minutes and they have been quite alright; they really don't like dogs..."
Him, "You're much closer"
Me, "... but I'm not a dog..."
He shrugged and turned around (with his dog) to approach closer (well, as near as the fence would allow), at which point the mother goose started honking much more urgently and the goslings all kerflumped ("gracefully") into the water to make their escape.

I assume that my explanation simply didn't square with the fact that he (well, his pest control animal) could not possibly be responsible for the animals' fear.

I've put a picture of all 9 of the goslings on Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.