Sun on the Arran Hills

9.2C with heavy showers all morning. Clearing through the afternoon with the sun breaking through from 2pm onwards. Wind WNW to 24 mph with gusts to 36 mph dropping to a light NNW breeze.

From the local fish shop this morning Salmon fishcakes and Salmon (fresh, smoked, and roast) Scotch Eggs.

About 2pm Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. The sun was beginning to come out and the Low Askomill side of the loch had sun on the hillside and the Arran hills beyond.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a brisk walk with Big Country (Through a Big Country) then Deacon Blue (Believers) on the Clip to make sure I kept the pace up. I went round by Aqualibrium and along past the harbour. Just a couple of fishing boats at the old quay and Ayress at the new quay just opening its cargo deck covers to take on the huge pile of wood waiting on the quayside. The harbour was busy with Eider Ducks again.

I went past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park then on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill  and then kept going until I reached the Doirlinn. I went along the pebble beach and out onto the Doirlinn itself but the tide was very high and there was very little showing above water. With the sun out Kildalloig bay was lovely and blue. Even out at the beacon there was little of the pebble and shell mound above the water level. I watched a couple of fishing boats come in though the channel and head for the harbour the I turned round and came home. The side of the loch I walked on today was in shade most of the way, the sun low behind Beinn Ghuilean and the clearing clouds.

I came back the same way I had gone but went along the street side of the park and came back home through town past the town hall and the bookshop (open).

Afternoon music ... Runrig, Mara.

DMC-LX7 f/3.5 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 14mm (35mm focal length 70mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.