Doppelgängers

Remind you of anyone? This is my latest charity shop bargain: a mere £3!

So, when I got into work this morning we had our meeting setting down some ground rules which, hopefully, will make everyone clear about their responsibilities. We'll see in due course... I then spent most of the rest of the morning shirking mine while having various phone calls with the garage we bought Ronnie from and the garage where he was residing. To cut a long story short, it's all arranged to be sorted next week, except for the windscreen wipers which had already been installed before I could stop them. Fortunately, the bill for this is a lot less than the rest of the work would have cost.

Also paid for Son2's imminent college trip to France, the price of which recently went up, putting the whole trip up in the air, due to the falling pound (thanks, Brexiteers!). Son2 was optimistic that yesterday's (I think) increase in sterling would mean the price would go down again but I suspect not!

I took an early lunch and, after popping in to see the dogs, headed to Guildford for the follow-up appointment to my op three months ago. I then had parking issues which I can't be bothered to go into now but suffice it to say I was late for my appointment. Anyway, I have some more medication and I'm also going to take evening primrose oil and vitamin B to hopefully help improve the half of the month when I feel rough.

Went back to work and arranged for Son1 to drive me to the garage when I got home to retrieve Ronnie before it closed at 5.30 pm. Got back to find that Son1 had not yet arrived and so I started to worry. Then received a text saying he was just back in Liphook and would be home in five minutes. So I decided to save a bit of time by walking to the other end of the estate. Unfortunately, Son1 is the only person I know who comes back the long way round the estate and, consequently, I was left standing on a street corner in the dark while he arrived home, unbeknown to me. He apparently asked Son2 where I was who didn't even know I'd been back. The dogs did because I'd fed them but he didn't ask them... Oddly, given that my car was here and I wasn't, he didn't think to phone me and let me know he was back! As I stood on the street corner I started to worry even more. I'd been holding off phoning him in case he was driving but decided I had to so I called and he answered immediately - from the comfort of the sofa.

So, I trudged home., having left a message on the answerphone at the garage to say that I'd have to leave it until tomorrow to collect Ronnie. They obviously didn't get the message because, when I arrived home, they called me to say they were going home. In the end we agreed that they would leave the key out so that I could collect the car after all and then pay them another time. So, Son1 gave me a lift after all and we finally got Ronnie back.

I was due to be going round to a friend's tonight for a girls' gathering (the other option being the Folk Club with Mr DawnAgain but he's working 12-hour days at the moment so that went out the window), but I've decided that all I really want to do is sit quietly with a bottle of wine, so that's what I plan to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.