Pecking order

A bit of neighbourly pecking order unfolding :-)

Benedict is smaller than his neutered neighbour but stands his ground most of the time. If you're old enough to remember Mad magazine, the relationship is a lot like Spy v's Spy ;-)

My day started early with a not so quick 10km. I continue to have niggles with my left calf so I do what I can. My anger towards the Earthquake Commission was palpable. Exercise is a good outlet and at the end of the day the edge feels a little blunter.

There have been lots of fiddly bits in my day around home today. Despite the looming deadline for shifting out, in many ways that hasn't been today's focus.

Near mid-morning I phoned my friend with the brain tumor. She asked me if I could come and hold her hand. Of course I did. We chatted, cried, and discussed her reality. When I phoned her mortality had just hit her. She told me she doesn't have long to live and I think she's probably right.

The brain tumor diagnosis was 14 September and her deterioration is frighteningly fast. She has difficult decisions to make, whether she'll continue with radiation and chemo or not. A week ago she could walk with her walking sticks and someone beside her on the hills, now she's in a wheel chair.

For me one of the most difficult aspects of the accommodation decision this week is I'm no longer near her, or my friend with Parkinsons. It's not like I'm in another country but I won't be handy to either for 36 nights.

Later today I visited my friend with Parkinsons. I delivered a roasted chicken I'd cooked while I did whatever my tasks were at home. She is bent over, shaking, and frail but will be with us longer than she'd like.

My reality is a strange one. While my situation is less than ideal I have my health. My strong, fit body is in stark contrast to one that is increasingly ravaged by an insidious growing disease, and another in slow decline, withered and unsteady. They're still both the people I know and love, and we'll work out the next 5 or so weeks.

Now I have a little tabby with a white under carriage to get inside before the fireworks start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.