The light blue bus

I went to visit my mate tonight who lives in a bus. This isn't his bus but it caught my eye because it looks like it might be one of the buses that did the Landliner service, Auckland to Wellington, and Wellington to Auckland, back in the day.

I did many trips on the Landliner. Mum and her sister took turns having both of their youngest kids - me and cousin Andrew, for a week of the May or August school holidays. Whoever was doing the travelling - me to Wellington, or Andrew to Auckland, traveled on the Landliner. It was pretty flash and a real treat. I don't think having both of together for a whole week was a treat, but we had a fabulous time together :-)

This old Landliner is now decked out as someone's home, and my mate says it's pretty nice inside. He should know, he did the kitchen for it.

My mate has a bus too. He sold his house and has the bus as a permanent residence instead. He says it feels like being on holiday and he loves coming home from work to the peace and quiet.

A beer and feed of white bait fritters and I felt like I was on holiday too :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.