Rhododendron Festival

I have seen every Rhododendron Festival parade except one in the 33 years we have lived in Blackheath and I'm sad to say it's no longer the wonderful event it used to be with extravagant floats from just about every community group.

Once again the fun police have intervened and prohibited anyone travelling on the back of an open vehicle unless they are "secured". 
These are vehicles moving at less than walking pace!

So this year we had a procession of fire trucks and old cars followed by a mish mash of pedestrians, about half in fancy dress and some in assorted groups holding a banner or too (or checking their phones).
Good on them for trying but I'm afraid I found it all rather depressing.

There was one bright spot which I'll add as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.