Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Sunset over the marshes

A weakening sun kisses the horizon and says farewell to a perfect day over the marshes to the south of Old Woking this evening.

In my dreams. The evening was dark and grey and I was struggling to find anything it all, a little like the previous evening. I saw a banded snail on a leaf by the canal and went for a close up, only to notice a bit of orange bokeh from a sodium light attached to a wall on the far side of the canal.

So I shifted camera angles behind leaves and all manner of vegetation set against the orange blob that was too sunlike to ignore when I got home. So this is a DIY sunset, taken just as it was, except it's an electric light, perfect for the Truman Show.

Packing today and about to go in to a blip purdah, I think, unless I encounter any wi-fi signal in the next week and a bit which is unlikely. I'll back blip when I get back.

In spite of various clues no-one has yet managed to come up with the answer to the London-based picture quiz I set two days ago, seeking to identify this.:(

PS: ExBeeb got it below - Tower Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.