The boat that Henk built

This is Henk de Vries, the chief executive of the Royal de Vries shipyard in Amsterdam. The model is a yacht that the yard built for Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple. Jobs never lived to enjoy it. De Vries and and another yard, Royal Van Lent, build and sell their ships under the Feadship brand. Feadships are recognised for their high quality of build. If you have a spare £100m I'm sure they'd build you one too.

Time for an early night after just three hours the previous night. It always gets like this before a holiday. The trip to Amsterdam today enabled me to get some work done before and during the flight. Henk has an interesting story. He's very down to earth about the appeal of superyachts. "It's like very luxurious caravan travel, that's the long and the short of it."

I knew there was something else I wanted to mention - son Rob has just got engaged. He and Vicky, who I can now call his fiancee, went for a couple of days to Oxford. He took her for a punt on the river Thames, waiting for his moment to propose in a secluded spot. But Vicky fell in to the river as she stepped off the punt. Amusing as it was, it put a bit of a dampener on his plan so he popped the question over dinner that night instead. We're very pleased for them. I'm sure that story will be trotted out again on the big day.

One final thing. I was out on the hill this evening when a Hurricane and a Spitfire flew overhead. Now that was something to see but I didn't have a camera to hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.