TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Willy wagtail

This is the largest of the fantails found in Australia and one of the most widespread. The proper name, I believe is, Rhipidura Leucophrys.  I have been watching this one on the fence outside my study window for a couple of weeks.  I thought it was an adult minding the nest, but now I read that the young ones, which have some russet colouring on the wings, hang around until the next hatching, then get short shrift from Mum and Dad. They usually breed four times each season.  Indigenous mythology has it that they are a bad omen and plans to travel used to be abandoned if one was sited near the perimeter of the camp. I find them so cheeky and also highly skilled nest builders, using hair from live animals to line them.  They are often seen on the backs of cows in the paddock, plucking needed material. They are totally unafraid of much larger birds, attacking anything that comes near their territory. The thumbnail looks a bit mean, but I think it is just the white eyebrow.  They are really quite delightful. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.