Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Louse berries

These are the berries of the spindle tree (euonymus europaeus).  I found them today at the base of St Catherine's Hill.  Lots of us, I guess, have euonymus this-or-that in our gardens, but somehow I find they can be fairly invisible in the wild - that is, if you're not concentrating or if these colourful little berries aren't waving a flag at you.  I'm glad they did to me, it's good to have a hit of colour (apart from my blue nose and red fingers, that is - it was perishing!).

The only other thing I can tell you about them is that an old country 'cure' was to dry and powder the berries to sprinkle the heads of children who had nits!

Okay, that's me for now.  Wishing you a peaceful Sunday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.