Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fly away home...

There was no flying today for the lady beetles in our garden - they were all huddled down in flowers and under leaves.  I nudged this one into the sun where it warmed up enough to clamour over the daisy.  This particular species, the Multi-colored lady beetle (Harmonia axyridis, is familiar to many and invasive in most places.  Introduced into US by our own Department of Agriculture in the 1970's to control other agricultural pests, it quickly spread and started negatively impacting the native lady beetle species.  Another lesson in why humans should refrain from mucking about with nature.  But I digress.  Like most people, I enjoy seeing lady beetles, even the invasive ones - and they are one of the few insects that are universally liked.  

Hubs and I worked in the yard for a while today and carted stuff from out patio down to our storage shed to be tucked away until spring.  It was blustery and chilly, but sunny - so not so bad being out.  

Spent several hours this afternoon working on a copy of a very old photo of Hub's father and grandfather.  The original photo had many creases and rips on it, so I painstakingly fixed as much as I could in PS.  Amazing what you can do!  I'll put the fixed up copy in Extra, along with the original.  Not a perfect job, but good for my first effort.

Long talk with my parents this morning, which is always a good start to the day. Will talk with MIL and SIL tonight.  

Still feeling the weight of loss heavy on my shoulders right now.  Tears feel close at all times and I find myself thinking of him constantly, wishing we'd had more time.  And whatever I am feeling, it is nothing compared to the other members of his family.  Giving my hubs lots of extra hugs right now - as much for me as for him.

Take care, people
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.