Branching out into other fields...?!!

I spotted this pharmacy name whilst walking to the Park & Ride carpark in Oxford to pick up the car for our journey home (OK there was of course a bus available but the early morning weather was so lovely I decided to walk). As you can imagine I couldn't resist blipping it. "Have our wonderful BlipCentral team decided to branch out to help make ends meet?" I wondered to myself - if so it's a shame they picked a signwriter who couldn't spell...!!

Before setting off home we spent some time in the Oxford Museum of Natural History - one of our favourite museums. They've currently got the most fabulous photography exhibition on entitled "Microsculpture". The extra is my pathetic attempt to photograph one of those photographs - it really doesn't do it justice but I hope it may whet your appetite to view the video of how these photos were done. Each photo is a composite of about 10,000 photographs taken with a microscope mounted on a camera, and each took the photographer Levon Biss about 3 weeks to put together. (Makes my occasional puny attempts to do focus stacking of a few shots for Tiny Tuesday look pathetic!).

If you've time please watch the video here:

http://.microsculpture.net

- and then click on the "Explore" menu to view the photos themselves on-line.

I think if you've not seen them before you'll be gobsmacked.

The photos are even better to see "in the flesh" - the exhibition is on until 29th January (and no, I'm not on commission - entry is free).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.