Echo

I saw this in black and white and felt an echo of nearly 6 years reverberate through me.

The footpath on this side my local park is new this year. The one replaced had a crack running through it ironically like the shadow cast by the steel cable that is part of the border fence.

It's nearly 6 years since the footpath cracked open, and nearly 2.5 years since my first house repair.

In the moment of reverberation the lone figure on the bike was symbolic of me.

Anyway, it was a powerful moment and part of the richness of all the moments that make up my life.

There were many good parts of today. My colleagues at work have been wonderful. They're supportive of me and keep me sane.

Notably I got a call this morning from the Residential Advisory Service. The guy I spoke to yesterday talked to his boss about my call. They want to take my case on and challenge the Earthquake Commission. There are no guarantees but it's worth a shot. I have an appointment with one of their lawyers next Thursday afternoon.

Because they said yesterday they can't help people like me post-rule change, I emailed a lawyer last night I'd been given the name of. I asked him straight out if his costs would outstrip those I'm seeking from EQC. Yep is the short answer.

But his email reply was generous of both time and advice. He reckons if I take them on I will be successful in the long run. It's a matter of whether they grind me down first, which he says is what usually happens.

I don't know if I have the fortitude but I'm willing to give it a crack. I'll take the bastards on.

My day started very early and I mean early. I'd done quite a bit inside before I turned my attention to filling the green bin with a spot of gardening at 5.40am. My Nana used to do things like that, it must be genetic ;-)

I'm going to relax and crack some walnuts now. Oh, and that 49 big sleeps I said Benedict has in the cattery, it's 39 (a relief to us both).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.