Hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil

Time advice as I deal with the Earthquake Commission. Yeah, a few too many Benedict photos but he goes into the cattery for 49 nights so you won't get too many for a while.

He was my back up blip but as is usually the case at present, I was lost in phone calls, emails etc and there wasn't an alternative. Maybe you'll get a cardboard box tomorrow ;-)

There isn't much positive to report when it comes to EQC. I spoke to an MP but she's limited in what she can do because I'm not in her electorate. She suggested a couple of things. EQC won't even acknowledge my emails much less engage with me so asking them to copy her in on all correspondence to me won't make much difference. There is none.

I phoned the Residential Advisory Service, free impartial advice for the repair of your home. This was another suggestion. They told me they could have helped me before the recent rule changes, but they can't help since the rule changes. I don't know why but that's a huge change when it comes to people having somewhere to turn to for help.

There are others worse off than me. The MP told me some people are being told by EQC to fund their own accommodation while their second repair is done. The don't even apply the rules consistently.

A friend told me this afternoon their 80 year old neighbour is still waiting for his first repair. There have been many scopes, many reports, and recently a man with a high viz vest looked around and told him his home didn't look too bad to live in. The 80 year old pointed to the crack from one side of his house to the other and asked him if he'd let his kids live in a house like this.

What has happened to New Zealand? (no need to reply, it's a rhetorical question).

I declined the offer to appear in the media to front what's happening. You've got to know your limits and I know mine.

Anyway, on the positive side of the ledger I went to work and except for building site aspect, work is good. A colleague asked me how I was getting on. When she heard where I'd be living she offered to pick me up and drop me home from work. She lives half an hour further out than I am. At some point of her journey she has to get on the road I'll be living on. It won't work for either of us every day but it will help.

I had 3 meals today, fresh clean water whenever I wanted it, and there is food in my fridge. I can shower whenever I want and my home is warm, dry, and secure.

I will get there, I have to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.