La vida de Annie

By Annie

Certified OAP

Rode the train into town to testdrive my new OAP pass. The machine rejected it. Undeterred, and wearing warm clothing abandonned by daughters in the house, I picked my way through the town's homeless and frantic shoppers (only a month and a half to the big C!) and wended my way to the Brain Charity for the coffee morning and Brain Haemorrhage Support Group meeting. The new CEO has transformed the place into a bustling happy space with a lovely new cafe, and lots of free activities on offer, such as art, crafts, yoga, choir, and lots of fund-raising ventures such as the grand ball, ladies night and race night to name a few. The sponsored walk I and #2S took part in back in May raised quite a lot of money, and as you can see they had saved our certificates for us since then. The helpful Maureen from the Support Group (see extra) showed me how to work my new (awful) phone and managed to extract its number which she wrote down for me. Town was extremely hectic and noisy and the shops were mostly decorated for the C word, although the "big switch on" of the outdoor decorations will be on Thursday - still way too early to my mind. We've just had Halloween dammit. Exhausted  but after work #2S kindly drove me to the supermarket for some essentials for my stay (porridge, skimmed milk, Yorkshire tea and lots of fruit), where he got me to video him moonwalking the trolly between aisles. I'm glad he inherited some of my sense of humour....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.