La vida de Annie

By Annie

OMG, don't you realise it's only early November?

Popped into town again on the train with my old codgers travel pass, which inexplicably now works, to meet #1D for lunch after she finished work. Depressing conversation about all the people she feels we should buy presents for. I was hoping to tone it down this year, partly because I'm strapped for cash but also because it seems inappropriate to give gifts which are not really needed when there are so many people with absolutely nothing. Utterly freezing and drizzly in town, but the packed rush-hour train back was like an oven, with windows tightly closed and heating on full-blast for the benefit of the sneezing, coughing passengers, every single one glued to a mobile phone even though the signal is unreliable on the underground part of the track. I tell a lie - one person was reading a Kindle instead, and I was looking at no device at all, just trying to zone out. If I don't finish this visit with a streaming cold I'll be very surprised.
On the plus side, I have crumpets, something I've lusted after for ages while away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.