Lifts

Here I am sitting in the lift. Our Edinburgh flat is on the 4th floor and there are 56 steps to the 4th floor. However we are very lucky because our block of flats has a lift. When Ann lived here 20 years ago she never, ever used the lift. The lift was like a cage with metal sides that one could see the lift shaft sides through and even 20 years ago it was more than 30 years old and Ann had a fear of the ropes snapping and the lift going crashing to the bottom of the lift shaft.

Anyway a couple of years ago at great expense the lift was replaced and now we have a lovely safe lift well there's a number to phone in case of emergency so Ann has overcome her fear of lifts and we use the lift all the time. After all I'm not getting any younger either and if I've been out and about chasing squirrels; 56 steps is a lot of steps for an old little collie to climb.

However do you know what Ann said today? She said, 'Molly, from now on we are only going to use the lift when we have lots of heavy things to carry. From now on we are going to walk up the stairs because we are both getting a bit chunky. By Christmas we will both look gorgeous and sylph like.' Mmmmmmm......................... not sure that I'm keen on that idea. Whenever Ann goes on a fitness regime she makes me join in and sometimes all I want to do is have snooze time.

Take today for example............... this morning I got left home alone while Ann went to Waitrose with her friend. She used her Waitrose card for the first time which meant that she also got a free coffee. She's soooooo loving the fact that all these shops (which we don't have in Cornwall) lure one in with the offer of free coffee. Wonder if there's anywhere that does free wine?!

Anyway I was expecting to have at least a few hours snooze time but she was back within an hour and then she made me go for a walk to the local swimming pool because she wanted to time how long it took to walk there. (Edinburgh car parking is almost as bad as St Ives.) Normally I like getting extra walks but I've had so many recently that my sleep time is suffering. It was a round trip of 40 mins to the swimming pool. My morning walk was 40 mins and my afternoon walk was 1hour & 20 mins so I've walked for 2 hours and 40 mins today.

…............And as I'm a very intelligent little collie................ I've worked out that even if I only have two walks a day, plus go out for my bedtime wee....................... I am going to have to climb 168 steps every day.

That's a lot of steps for a 12 year old gorgeous little collie!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.