Amaryllis

One of my friends used to give me an amaryllis every Christmas when we worked together.  It's been a couple of years since I've had one, and I couldn't resist buying this one.  I've always planted the bulbs in the past, but this one is covered in wax and doesn't need any care at all except to be rotated now and then so it grows straight.  I don't understand why it wouldn't need water, but it's growing incredibly quickly, as amaryllis tend to do.  It's doubled in size in a week.  I bought one for our daughter and took it over on the weekend, and she says it's grown a lot too.  I'm looking forward to seeing this bloom.  I liked how it looked in the early morning light.
Extra:  I was sitting at the table commenting on blip this morning, and around 7:15, the clouds were beautiful.  The day did not disappoint, sunny with cloudy periods and around 17 degrees.  So what did I choose to do?  Instead of going for a walk, I rode the stationary bike then did a few hours of housework.  The only time I went outside was to empty the compost bucket.  The house did need a good clean, mind.  And I do like a clean house.  :) 

Nervously awaiting the result of the US election.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.