The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

I'm off again!

After spending over five months back in UK, with a week in Amsterdam and two weeks around Spain (which I should have put on here), I'm heading back to Asia for the foreseeable future.

I managed to get a couple of hours sleep after an amazing goodbye meal with my lovely family, before the alarm went off just before 4am. My dad drove me to Gatwick and I sat like a zombie waiting for my first of two flights.

While in South East Asia, I never carry shoes, socks or trousers as it's never cold enough. That meant that I was wearing shorts and flip flops when we arrived in Stockholm to snow, I got some funny looks. I had to get off the back of the plane and walk in the snow. The staff were checking I was ok, but it was only a short distance.

I had a four hour wait for my next flight and I'd planned to get a nice lunch but there weren't any good food options and Sweden is ridiculously expensive, especially with the pound so low. It's amazing how much has changed since my last post when Brexit and Trump were worrying but seemingly unlikely.

The second flight was 11 hours to Bangkok but due to uncomfortable seats and a very lively toddler sitting next to me, I barely slept.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.