The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Bangkok Story

I landed in Bangkok at about 8am, got through the airport quickly (once again, the beauty of only having hand luggage!), bought a SIM card and got on the train to my hostel. I usually stay in the same hotel in Bangkok but I thought I'd try somewhere new. Also, now that I'm getting 20% less baht for my pound, I have to make some changes.

The first thing I did when I got my SIM card was to check the US election. It was looking close. By the time I checked in to my dorm, things were looking bad. Then it got worse. What should have been an exciting first day back in Asia, was completely overshadowed by someone so vile being legitimised in the biggest way possible. This isn't about politics. It isn't about Clinton or her email server. It's about moral values. Today hate won.

If you don't think it's a big deal then read some of these and see what's been happening since Trump won: https://twitter.com/i/moments/796417517157830656

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.