Rejection...

Pete and I set off early to Bradley Fen (part of the Nene Washes) to carry out our annual ditch monitoring. A herd of tinker's ponies were grazing the barrier bank - mostly mares with quite a few foals. I watched them grazing quietly and indulging in a lot of mutual grooming.

I was busy photographing the grooming when I heard a sharp whinny and saw the stallion galloping over the bank, with his teeth bared, heading towards a dark brown mare without a foal. I quickly turned the camera and caught her response.

Initially I thought he was being aggressive, but I think that this was actually an amorous approach. She clearly wasn't impressed by his tactics at that point, but when I saw them all somewhat later she was much more enthusiastic, and I suspect there will soon be another foal in the herd.

I'm sorry if this image is a bit graphic, but I liked the moment of drama, and the fact that I didn't consciously register this kick at all, as the whole incident happened so quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.