usp

By usp

I, too - pc-p 10

postcard: Amsterdam
poem: Langston Hughes (1923) - I, too

I, too, sing America. 

I am the darker brother. 
They send me to eat in the kitchen 
When company comes, 
But I laugh, 
And eat well, 
And grow strong. 

Tomorrow, 
I’ll be at the table 
When company comes. 
Nobody’ll dare 
Say to me, 
“Eat in the kitchen,” 
Then. 

Besides, 
They’ll see how beautiful I am 
And be ashamed— 

I, too, am America.

9 November has long been an important date with events like the Crystal Night and the fall of the Berlin Wall, as well as others, falling on this date. So picking this postcard  - I thought by accident -, which depicts the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam with the above poem, sending it to a fellow foreigner living in the UK on the day after we heard the results of the US election just seems ... hm, bit lost for words there.

NaPoWriMo - my version of it; sending a postcard-poem each day of November. Here is the how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.