Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Post Operative Care

Essential post operative care, according to the discharging nurse, to help with the pain.  What I hadn't realised is that my right shoulder would be competing with my stomach for the award of most painful part of the body.  I wonder whether I was man-handled on and off the operating table and this has inflamed the shoulder; I'd only had a steroid injection in it last month after months of discomfort.

My first day at home after a sleepless night.  Didn't feel much like doing anything so it ended up with sitting on the settee, with a brief respite when my cousin and husband popped in to see how I was.  I hope to get a better night's sleep later.

Many, many thanks for the kind words and encouragement from fellow blippers.  It is amazing how many people have had the same operation.  I had a very detailed text from a good friend currently training to be a dietitian; fortunately she had just had a lecture on the liver and bile juices.  Looks like my diet will need some adjustments to prevent the build up of fats in the blood stream.

Before disposing of the stones I counted them - 131 at best estimate! they range in size from petit-pois to grains, all made of cholesterol.  Amazingly, the body actually makes its own cholesterol and some is good for us; it hasn't felt that way for the last few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.