Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

To Flare, or Not to Flare.........

.......that was the question.  In the end I reduced the aperture to create the flare but didn't quite expect the annular flare to show up as well.  It was really this spectacular a sunrise and I really hadn't expected it.

It was also a frustrating morning as the wedge assembly on my Lee filter holder came apart.  I caught all of the components only for the spring to drop from my hand as I fumbled to put it in my pocket.  I knew where it had dropped but long grass and a small dark spring are definitely analogous with a needle and a haystack.

It meant I couldn't filter this shot so instead used the in camera HDR facility.  It was most impressive and I've hardly done anything with the resultant RAW image (Nikon take note) other than increase the shadow detail and sharpen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.