Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Light

It’s been a dark 2 days.    I’m tired of reading and hearing theories about how this president got elected.    I’m thinking about the kids, as I’m hearing about their fears.   Our grandchildren (6, 11, 13, almost 14) are shocked and disgusted,  scared for some of their friends  (or anyone) who may be different from them,  they wonder who the people were that could vote for this person. And why more people didn’t vote. They say they don’t know America.   They are so young they won’t even (just barely) be able to vote 4 years from now.   We are having a family get together this weekend so we will try to reassure them that all the light hasn’t gone out.   There is still beauty in the world and family and friends that love them.   The states’ map of how the 18-25 year olds voted (overwhelmingly blue states link here) was a projection of how they said they would vote (sent to me first by a blipper from New Zealand with a teenager who was trying to understand!) but I haven’t yet seen the real stats.  Except that the voter turnout for that age group was low as well.   Somehow we have to let them realize that they can make a difference.  And then they also need to hear a bit of perspective from us ancient ones, who haven’t always been too pleased with the many choices we have had to vote on, since 1960, never missing one, (except we'll never know about the absentee vote we tried to send from Venice in 2000 voting for Al Gore... the Italian express mail system being very UN express). And how it all works.... "We’ll see…"… (as our parents said to us…)

The vase with my dried hydrangeas was lit both by the candle and the window - I suppose I could make something out of that... but I will leave it...to you...
:-)

This will be my "fire" for the weekly challenge...the flame is hidden spreading the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.