They gave their Today for your Tomorrow

The Eleventh hour of the Eleventh day of the Eleventh month. 'At the going down of the sun and in the morning, we will remember them'.

His Lordship and I stood with hundreds of others in the Garden of Remembrance at Princes Street Gardens amidst all the rows and ranks of personal crosses placed by relatives missing a family member for the 2 minute silence and the short service afterwards.
Once upon a time the whole city fell silent at the sound of the gun fired from the castle, but it seems today in our frenetic world that buses have a schedule to keep and people have to be on time for appointments.

On a lighter note, last night I was watching the Mary Berry TV programme and knitting, when things were interrupted by the skirl of bagpipes outside the window. I opened the door to discover Seb my oldest grandson serenading me with the 'Rowan Tree' on his pipes, while his two sisters, his brother and daughter #2 waited on the patio bearing a cake for me with just one lit candle which I thought very tactful.
My surprise was total and produced the icing on the cake for a memorable day.
It is the custom to give the piper a 'wee dram', but being only 15 he had to make do with a cup of tea and a slice of cake.

The weekend is beckoning and a catch up with Raheny_Eye and Magpie is on offer. It sounds like a fun morning in store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.