Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Dear Jane........

It's not you, it's me. I know we've been together for a long time but I never promised it was for ever. We've had some good times; those picnics on the cliff top at the Lizard, chasing steam trains round the country, and that year we went to all the airshows to see the Vulcan flying for the last time. It was fun while it lasted but sometimes you just have to move on. No-one can say I haven't been good to you; you've been serviced whenever you needed it and by the proper dealer too, none of these back street boys. You've always had the best fuel. And that time you bent your rear mudguard on the gatepost? Who made sure it was all fixed properly? Yes, that's right, me. But I've been feeling I was ready for a change. I'm sorry I didn't tell you but you know that holiday I just had in America a few weeks ago? Well, I was with another car. I never meant it to happen but we just got on so well that when I came back I knew it was time for you to go. Of course, I couldn't bring that one back but I've met another one here which is just as nice. It's not that you're getting old, honestly, but it's a fact that the new one is a lot younger than you and can do a lot more things, and I'm afraid I was smitten. I know it's probably the last thing you want to see at the moment but I've put a snap of her on as an extra. So that's it, old girl. I'm sure you'll meet someone else soon who will really appreciate you in a way that I can't any longer. It's been good knowing you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.