Poppy

By Poppy

Festive Marmalade . . .

The house is full of wonderful smells at this time of the year, especially when there is a pan of brandy and ginger marmalade on the go!

Ollie came into town with me this morning, He had his annual check up and booster vaccination at the vets, and then I dashed round the shops for last minute bits and pieces.

We then went up to the residential home where my old friend and neighbour is now staying. It is so sad to see her there, she has deteriorated very quickly and is nothing like the lovely lady I have known and loved for the last 25 years. She still knows who I am and was pleased to see me and Ollie, but she is barely able to communicate and it breaks my heart to see her like she now is. She is warm, comfortable, has the sort of food she wants and has nothing to worry about while she is there, but for someone who was always the matriarch, always in charge, so independent and strong willed, it is a sad way to end her days. She is not happy but tells me there is nothing anyone can do and that she is very, very tired. I go to see her several times a week, but it is a miserable and sad business, and it tears me up to go there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.