Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...The rare and elusive Hummingbee!

Okay, I know I can't fool you - it is just a common bumblebee. However, when I showed the Hubs my shots of the, he looked at this one and said, "oh, a hummingbee!" So, there you have it. Actually, this is the first time I have ever managed to catch a bumbler in flight and not have it be a blurry mess, so it is definitely a blip-worthy shot for me. And nice in Buzzy Big!

Actually I had an excellent day, photo wise. The Blip-monster was very, very kind to me today. It started bright and early when I was having tea on the deck and saw a tiny little American Redstart (a warbler) chasing all the finches around the yard and into the woods. I have no idea what that was about, but at one point she even launched at attack on the hummingbirds! It was unsuccessful since the hummers can outmaneuver just about anything on wings. That whole flying-backwards things always messes up the enemy. I worked for a few hours, then took off for Kittatinny Valley St. Park where I saw so many cool things!

I decided to put all the favorite shots of the day in a slide show on Flickr, so if you'd like to have a look, click HERE for birds, bees, flowers, dragons and butterflies. A fun way to spend a few hours.

Thank you for sending my sunflower to the Spotlight page! That was unexpected. It does, however, make me like my iPhone camera even more! I don't think I need a point and shoot as long as I have the iPhone.

Hoping you are all enjoying a great Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.