Lemony1Lemon

By Lemony1Lemon

Day 254- Florence/Buley rock/Wangi

I woke up in the middle of the night as a bat flew into the side of the tent as it is made of mesh stuff, he must have been a good metre in width. I got up to check on it, but it flew into the tree so he was all good. Got up before the sunrise to catch the wallabys, and fed Niel (the cow with horns) a full lettuce, I couldn't stop laughing he had such a long tongue! He gave me that look of thanks, wanted to keep him! Also headed to the toilet and a peacock was on the roof, haha i honestly didnt know they could fly!And then we went off to see the termmite mounds. One of them was around 8 metres high. As they grow roughly 1m a year, that one could of easily been 80 years old. Madness. Next stop.. Florence falls, which was lovely really peaceful, made up of the three main waterfalls. Had a little swim here, again I say on a huge rock and lots of massive black fish surrounded me was amazing. On the walk back there were loads of bats hanging in one of the trees, the guide shuck the tree and they all fly off! The sound was incredible. Another thing I learnt today, bats can see during the day haha. Today is a learning day! Then to Buley rock, wasn't to keen here, so many people, lovely place but so busy just couldnt fit anywhere. And then final stop before Darwin was at Wangi, a huge waterfall and there was a rock pool underneath the smaller waterfall which was really cool. We had fresh mango from the trees and then drove on the bumpiest track back to Darwin, the older folk at the back of the wagon nearly banged there heads on the roof, so funny.
Once in Darwin... only Justin who I worked with at chermside and his girlfriend Roo are staying at the same hostel! So a nice big catch up and drinks.
I can honestly say the 10 day trek across the outback, one of the best experiences of my life. It opened me up to so many emotions and made me realise how un important alot of things are. And also my fear of birds pretty much gone! Happy days. And also I had a life realization, which is exciting. I'm feeling positive :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.