Skinny cows

It was a pleasant jaunt today, heading over to Almscliff, North Rigton and a weave back through the villages and hamlets of Weeton and Castley.  It was in Castley where these cows caught my eye.  I too must have caught the eye of the farmer as he came out to see what I was up to.  I wasn't sure we were going to have a big conversation with his one word answer to my opening question.  But, in the end, after a good 10 minutes chatter, and his son joining him, I had to make my excuses and pedal away.  

His views on red kites were interesting as he believes they do kill many of the wildlife chicks.  I do imagine they could but have never seen it myself.  We then got onto a school from Bramley that had asked to see them at lambing time about 10 years ago.  He hadn't been too sure but after 50 children from 6 to 11 had descended onto their hay bale classroom, with faces lighting up as baby lambs were born, he'd clearly changed his mind.  With great disappointment in his voice, he talked about how health and safety took control the following year and they weren't allowed to go.  How awful is that?  As much as we live in a privileged country, sometimes I think it's simply atrocious.

Rich has been biking too on an organised event.  He met up with two friends and a girl tagged on who, as the ride went on, explained her dramatic 18 months of weight loss and road fitness...

57kg or 9stone

That's impressive.
That'd be me and more. Gone!
Disparu!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.