Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

A song for today

An early morning visit to Pennington Flash was more of a success than I expected!
As I pulled up into the car park by the lake, I saw a large group of people with scopes, cameras and binoculars, so knew something was going on.
A Long Tailed Duck had flown off course and arrived at the Flash over the past couple of days and word had obviously got around! They normally winter on the east and west coasts of America, but some can also be found further north in Scotland, so it was a long way from home.
It was a bit far away for my camera, so after a short while I moved on and managed to see some good birds myself - a kingfisher was around for a little while, the very shy Water Rail was showing well, a Grey Heron was stalking about looking for his dinner, plenty of cormorants and tufted ducks were on the lake and then there was the usual suspects at the Bunting hide - bullfinch, tits, finches, robins, magpies, blackbirds etc.
This Song Thrush was in a tree by the car park and I thought it made a nice picture. As I have hardly used any extras, I thought I'd use a few today to show what a good morning I've had! Long Tailed Duck and Gull, Water Rail and Heron. Hope you like them.

Since I got home, I've done a few chores and am now settled down in front of the TV watching the Brazilian Grand Prix. So far it has been red flagged (stopped) twice and had 2 safety cars due to rain and crashes, so who knows what will happen next!

I've few small jobs and my packing to do and then I can relax for the rest of the evening. I was hoping to see the big super moon tonight, but it's not looking too good so far - very cloudy,

Anyway, hope you have all had a great weekend. Will try and keep up next week whilst I am in Czech Republic, but it'll be a busy week with a difficult installation, so I'll have to see..... have a good week everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.