Something Bright.....

.....for this grim day in New Zealand.

7.5 magnitude earthquake hit an area just north of Christchurch.  Doug & I slept through it, but talking to others here it was very strong.  We are the lucky ones. Strong aftershocks have continued ever since. Then a tsunami alert was issued.
Further north, in particular Kaikoura is in a very bad way - totally cut off with numerous slips either side of this popular tourist town.  No power, sewerage, roading, bridges, structural damage to homes and sadly two deaths - the pictures we are seeing are heartbreaking.  
But not only Kaikoura, there is much damage further north and our capital city Wellington is in a very bad way also - the inner city has virtually closed down, with all business & shops closing.  Broken glass, roading issues, buildings knocked about. There is a long & challenging journey ahead for many.

These poor cows :(

I wondered if I may have photographed the super moon tonight but its raining and whats more I'm far from well and don't intend going outside. Doug did my blip yesterday which I loaded this morning.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.