Shaking All Over...

the Country.

We got a wake up call around midnight with a severe earthquake centred 90k from Christchurch in the in the Seddon and Kaikoura region of New Zealand. The authorities issued a tsunami warning after a powerful earthquake hit northeast of Christchurch, the biggest city on South Island. At least two people have been confirmed dead in Kaikoura.

A sizeable tsunami wave of around 2 meters has been recorded in Kaikoura.The tsunami warning has been lifted now. Here is a link to one of the news bulletins.

It was estimated that over 1000 tourists were stranded in the area and now NZDF planes might be used to fly them out.

Now the region is getting heavy rains. The slip dam on Clarence River has breached and a large wall of water is heading downstream. Residents urged to go to higher ground IMMEDIATELY. Here is another link about the roads the river blocks.

I had physio this morning and he really worked on my ankle and now it is so sore I can hardly walk. Hopefully he is doing more good than damage!

My plans are to head of to Akaora tomorrow. I will stay until around Sunday. The weather isn't going to be very good which isn't going to worry me as I can't do much other than read just now.

With my balance not being good and with the on going earthquakes, I didn't managed to get out and about to get any shots. This little Aquilegia is growing just beside the garage. I could hold on to the wall while I was taking this shot.

Thank you all for your concern about the severe earthquakes we having just now. Hopefully the worst has past.



I read that 5 metre tsunami wave hit a hoilday on Bank Peninsula.. Hopfully Akaroa will be OK 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.