The long walk home

My friend Diana passed away this morning 2 months after being diagnosed with a brain tumor. It was much quicker than anyone thought, peaceful, and without pain. For that I'm grateful. We are all stunned at how quick soon the end was. My heart goes out to her family.

I've lost a wonderful friend. Many years ago I designed her wedding invitation. We've tramped together, climbed the odd mountain, and she's been a steady friend these past years.

Diana had the ability to do practical things that made a difference. Not many people deliver food to single women when they're sick or injured. Diana did. If I was full of bugs she'd sensibly keep her distance and leave it on the doorstep.

When I broke my foot she'd not only turn up with food, she also watered my garden and ferried things up and down stairs for me. She was always up for an adventure, happy to give garden advice, pass on extra produce from her garden, and lend an extra hand when I didn't have enough.

During and after my first quake repairs Diana helped me pack, clean, and provided meals when she knew I'd have nothing. Notably she spent most of a weekend with me cleaning my filthy home at the end of the repair.

When I shifted out again to have my carpet replaced when it was damaged during the first repair, Diana was there to help get stuff back in and create order from chaos.

She knew more than any of us she didn't have long. She said her goodbyes to me but I thought I'd see her again but I didn't. I promised her I'd keep on heading to the hills. Not that I needed to as it goes without saying. I'll have to learn to carry the memories and treasure them, rather than feel her absence. I know at some point I'll sense Diana's pleasure at seeing me out there and doing it.

Life has continued on today. I wept, then worked, puddled along and actually got some work done. My colleague had just dropped me after work and I'd crossed the road, about to walk down the drive way to my temporary home when I took this.

It's at the end of the driveway and slightly to the left. It's the best part of a 1km walk, slightly longer than my driveway at home ;-)

Diana, you are a good soul. You were gracious when things didn't go your way and gentle when it wasn't deserved, because you knew grace was a better way. I'll miss your "gidday", I'll miss you.

RIP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.