An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Birthday Gill...

The day started well.

Reached out at 6.20am to turn the alarm off my phone and managed to knock over the glass of water on my sofaside table.  Water everywhere, over my phone, my kindle, the carpet, the sofa, the electrical socket!  SOS to David (my hero :-) who came running, eyes half shut, with a towel to mop up.

Between one thing and another (mainly seeing to Alan) it was almost 9am before he left for work.  

Lots of drilling noises from the kitchen.  I think the heating engineers are not having an easy time running new pipes to the upstairs radiators.  Rumour has it that the kitchen is now painted and a third of the floor tiles laid.  It's killing me not having any access from the house to the kitchen.  David will investigate tomorrow and report back.

Nurse arrived this morning to take bloods from Alan.  He was still asleep.  We sneaked in and while I held his hand and whispered Christmas songs in his ears, the needle was in his arm and the samples gathered without a flinch.  He then slept on till almost midday.  Yip, definitely colitis flare up.

Once up, he was cheery enough and wanted his tummy milk and a drink.  It didn't last long in his tummy though but so long as he wants it, I will give it to him.  Once blood and stool results back, the gastro nurse can advise on what to do next.  Not sure they will prescribe steroids so soon after the last lot.

It was Gill's birthday (Alan's wonderful support worker who had to give up work due to problems with her hands) today and she came for coffee and birthday cake this afternoon.  Alan was delighted to see her and enjoyed watching her blow out the candles on her cake.

She loved her birthday gifts but this one was her fave.   I thought she was going to fall off the sofa laughing.  The gift of laughter is always my favourite :D  

Got at email from the kitchen company this morning advising their fitters will arrive for 8am on Monday and our kitchen is being delivered direct from Stoneham who are travelling up over the weekend with it in order to be here for 8am Monday.  So it's finally happening.  I can't quite believe it.


Hoping to have downstairs heating and hot water by close of play on Friday.  Got everything crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.