Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Laurinha

Remember Little Suzy Johnson, Jeremy's little sister from Disney's show Phineas and Ferb? She appears very cute and innocent; however, Suzy is actually very manipulative and spoiled, always getting her own way.

Well, that girl on the picture is Suzy a couple of years later.

Yesterday was one of the many national holidays we have in Brazil, and Isabella invited some girls over to play. Laurinha is Mariana's (one of Isabella's classmates) younger sister. Isabella had told me what a little brat Laurinha was, but when I saw her I simply couldn't imagine that all the stories Isabella had told me about her were true. I wanted to take a photograph of Laurinha to show Isabella Laurinha's true beauty.

Well, when Laurinha noticed that I was pointing my camera at her, that's the look she gave me.

How, then, do I explain this photograph to my daughter? Truth be told, during the few hours that Laurinha spent with us I came to know an adorable eight year old girl who is a lot of fun, but who needs a little more attention than the other older girls. I will tell Isabella that parents have this (sometimes annoying) tendency to see the world of our kids through their own eyes. We as parents want them to be right because we want to believe that we raised them as perfect little human bings.
So, what will I tell my daughter? I will tell her that a photograph reflects not reality but what the eyes of the photographer sees. I will tell her that I have to become a better photographer and a better father.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.