Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Hero

I fell.  Again.  I fractured my clavicle ribs - three of them.

There is a volunteer group in town which calls people in the morning to make sure they are okay.  I am the emergency contact for a friend of mine.  She couldn't be reached so I was called.

What happened next?
I rolled out of bed, got quickly dressed and slipped on my sandals (huge mistake - I'm supposed to wear shoes). Before I got into my car, I dropped some cardboard into my recycle bin which I had previously rolled out to the curb.  As I turned to walk up the driveway, I tripped over the little rock (see the extra) which is in the corner of my yard, falling hard onto the cement driveway.

I didn't hit my head again, thank God, but I remember virtually nothing.  As I laid writhing on the ground, Chula started barking.  She alerted her owner, Michelle, who came out to help.  Michelle wanted to call the paramedics....but I had to get to my friend's house to see if she was okay! 

She helped me up and I drove to my friend's place. She wasn't home!    By then  I was coming out of shock and the pain really took off.  I was closer to the fire station than I was to my home so I drove straight there. 

You can probably fill in the rest of the story on your own. This was the third serious fall I've had in the past 15 months. Something's got to change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.