Old Silk and Satin

Dear Diary,

A quick drive over to New Hampshire to see my cousins and what caught my attention were the fallen leaves in their driveway.  The soft glow of them reminded me of old silk and satin fabrics for some reason; the color or vintage gowns.  I thought them quite beautiful.

We have had a good soaking rain overnight which we sorely needed.  There is that damp late autumn smell outside which I love.  It is quite mild too.  It will be a good day to stay in and wrap what Christmas presents I have and make my list for what is left to buy.  I would have a fire in the wood stove but it's a bit too warm out.

I slept really well, in part I think, because of the sound of rain on the roof.  As a child my bed was tucked under the eaves so I would hear the rain quite distinctly.  I've always found it the most relaxing sound.  Sounds and smells trigger memories every bit as well as visual cues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.