Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Flash - ah aaah - Saviour of the Universe

I have started to read this book on using a flash this morning. Although I have owned one for a couple of years, I have absolutely no idea how to use it beyond TTL and messing with off camera bouncing, and so always use ambient light for my shots. Already after 50 pages I feel a lot more confident about controlling it manually: now I understand the basic relationship between aperture and distance (see - I know nothing!!) and the link between shutter speed and ambient light. Pretty obvious when I thought about it! I am not sure that I will embrace supplementary light beyond the odd reflector, but I am sure that the knowledge will come in extremely useful in future situations and the time invested will be well worth it.

I bored Mrs H with a brief, excited explanation of what I had gleaned from the introduction and took a few shots to show her the difference. To say she was mildly interested would be a huge exaggeration ;-) I also only just realised that my flash can act as a slave and my camera as a commander - so I have a lot more reading and tons of experimenting to go over the next few days.

If Mrs H complains that I am flashing too much - you know why :-P

Anyway, got a lovely shot of her in the test shots regardless, so here it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.