Heavy Showers

6.2C with rain and heavy shower until early afternoon, then there were some bright spells and some sunny spells between the showers. Wind to 22 mph with gusts to 36 mph.

Last night was the second meeting of The Kintyre Antiquarian and Natural History Society. Apothecary7 and I went along and with a very full turnout despite the weather enjoyed a very entertaining and informative talk on the topic: The Royal Castle of Tarbert, its History, Archaeology, and Restoration. The speaker was Robert McPhail, retired Architect and chair of the Castle Trust.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walk after lunch. We wandered round by Aquilibrium and along by the harbour. There were fewer fishing boats tied up at the old quay. MILA had several wind turbine tower sections loaded.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went along the narrow park past the ferry terminal on the path by the loch and out as far as the cemetery. Pink (I'm Not Dead) on the Clip. Then there was a heavy shower. I waited in the shelter of a high garden wall (handy!) then started back when most of the rain had passed. Arran was completely hidden by low clouds (and rain). The wind wasn't noticeable where I was walking. The data reported above is for Campbeltown airport which is out towards Machrihanish further West than the relative shelter of Beinn Ghuilean.

I came back along the shore path in the park because I could see a lot of standing water in the gutter along the street side. I went back to the harbour then cut through the town to get home.

Since I have been home there has been a better spell of brightness with some blue sky.

Afternoon music ... Roxy Music, Manifesto. Simple Minds, Acoustic. Soundtrack to the movie The Lost Boys.

Note: It is one year to the day since we came to Campbeltown for Apothecary7's job interview.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/320 sec. ISO-80 14mm (35mm focal length 70mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.