Day 322/16. Incorrect now, but OK in 1965.

My wife has been clearing out some of my mother-in-laws stuff. In amongst today's collection of books Karen found this 1965 Ladybird book.
The engineer in me finds the description of car components back then fascinating when comparing with today's computer and safety driven developments. See the basic design inside of the carburettor (extra picture 1). I spent many a Sunday afternoon 'tweaking' the SU carb on my old Mini to get a bit more power, usually resulting in hugely increased fuel consumption and occasionally, smoke..... Later I had a Humber with twin SU carbs (oh, the power), and keeping those balanced required some pipework worthy of beer brewing, 2 people and a lot of fiddling about, only for it to need doing again after 50 miles......
But also take a look inside the cover (extra picture 2). Back in 1965 the Ladybird book of the Motor Car is so good that 'all boys will find it fascinating'. I'm not sure they would get away with that in today's corrected world.
But the book caused a nostalgic sigh from me at the memory of my 1961 850cc Mini and my 1972 1725cc Humber Sceptre.......sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.