Sea Glass

Well, no this is not a picture of sea glass (that will probably come tomorrow, as I have only just got in and want to post this quickly), but it is where I found some today – Seaham Beach.
 
Ever since StuartDB posted a blip about sea glass a while back now, I have been intrigued by it. Not ever having lived by the sea, it was a whole new world to me. He then posted several more blips about sea glass and I said I wanted to find some. I have been on Seaham Beach many times recently, but had really no idea where to look, when to look or what I was looking for, despite being fascinated and amused watching all the people walking along the beach with their heads down.
 
Eventually we agreed on a glass-hunting day – today. It wasn’t the best weather, with a cold wind blowing and rain imminent, but off the four of set – me and Gordon, Stuart, and ‘ace-glass-finder Mrs DB’. I was amazed by what they found and what I eventually found – mainly ‘ordinary’ white and green, but the occasional bits of red and blue. All beautiful. I was so pleased. Then we went for soup to warm us up and walked back to the cars in the rain. A great morning – thanks to both of you.
 
An ‘interesting’ journey home. Continuous rain from Seaham to Barnard Castle, then the rain changed to sleet, then the sleet turned to snow. Dreadful conditions on the A66 (see extra), but at least we were moving. On the other carriageway the traffic (lots of it) was stuck behind a truck that could not get up a hill.

 ************
The concert last night was excellent – Jon Boden – Going Solo. Jon Boden was a founder and the lead vocalist in that amazing phenomenon known as “Bellowhead’. We saw ‘Bellowhead’ several times and had the most wonderful evenings – lots of musicians playing together with fantastic verve and enthusiasm. And then they were no more. Jon Boden decided he wanted to do his own thing and the rest of them decided they did not want to go on without him. So sadly that was it. When I got to know that he was doing a solo tour I decided we would give it a try and that’s where we were in Durham last night. He was brilliant. A totally different experience from ‘Bellowhead’, and quite definitely a solo performance, but very good indeed. What a musician and what a voice! And an ‘all booked out’, enthusiastic audience as well. A great evening.
************  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.