Life through the lens...

By ValC

Through steamy windows.

A bit of faffing with this photo of the early morning sun, taken through the bedroom window.
I hadn't realised that the challenge for today's Abstract Thursday was " Fauvism", but I think this fits the bill.

Yesterday's blip of the apples, and the mention of the old Be-Ro cookery book brought back some very happy memories for a lot of you.
I am also surprised how many of you are still using it and especially the recipe for Eve's Pudding.
I bet Mary Berry would be surprised too.

It was first published in 1923 and had 19 pages 40 plus editions later and it now has 86 pages.
My edition is no.12, which is probably 1930/40's.
I particularly  like this quote from the beginning of the book:

The woman who can cook well and bake well has every reason and every right to be proud of her cooking.
In ninety-nine cases out of a hundred she has a happy home, because good cooking means good food, and good food means good health.


There's no more pleasing sight than that of a happy family around a well-stocked tea-table, all enjoying their food:  and the mother who is responsible for the cooking, and who has prepared it with her own hands, has every right to survey the results of her culinary skill with pride and satisfaction.


Thank you for all your kind comments on my Norfolk blips.All very much appreciated. At last I am up to date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.