Occasional Musings

By cookingisgood

A Different Perspective

I was delivering some cards round the East End of Newcastle this morning after church and popped by an ex-colleague's house somewhere on the edge of Byker. As I came out of his street, I was in unfamiliar territory and turned in the wrong direction, only to crest a rise and suddenly see this view between the rows of terraced housing, on a Road that dropped steeply down towards St Peter's basin.

I'd never seen the bridges from this perspective before, and the vantage point may fool the viewer into thinking I'm on the south bank of the river, but no, the loops and meanders mean I'm actually still on the northern bank. I don't think I've ever seen the Baltic Arts Centre (that two-chimneyed old mill building in front of the Tyne Bridge, pretty much centre picture) from the back end before. I thought the hazy sunshine gleaming off the Sage was a nice touch too. I'd already blipped earlier in the day, but this completely changed my mind.

By the way, blippers...how many points does scaling the slightly rickety and slimy steps at the back of an uninhabited terraced house to try to get a better blip-composition score??

Maybe I went in the "right" direction after all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.