The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Fender

23C. Hot. Grey, then showers, then sunny and blue sky.

Routine out of the window. Apothecary7 has both today (Sat) and Monday off.
Neither croissant nor Empire biscuits. Tut!

Apothecary7 recommended that we try the site of her North Carr Lightship blip (of Wednesday evening) this morning for a change of blipping venue. I agreed, and off we went. City Quay, Dundee. At the back of the restaurants and shops. The lightship, I am sad to report, is in a dreadful state. I hope the signs for lottery funding that are on the front hold out hope for it!

Further along the same dock the Unicorn is moored. The posters outside on the notice board say it is a Georgian Warship. It is in a bad state of repair too. Timbers are visibly crumbling. It can be visited, for a price. Pictures were shot. In the end I was more attracted to a large and riotously colourful fender that keeps the Unicorn from bumping into the dock wall. Such is the Way of Colour :-)

To help me recover from the shock of seeing two such formerly glorious vessels in such a perilous state Apothecary7 was moved to make sure we had immediate medication went to the newish M&S cafe above their Simply Food store nearby and introduced ourselves to their most excellent baked comestibles. Although I'd rather the store was still a Borders bookshop I was much restored by a triple layered chocolate and coffee something or other cake. To make sure I was recovered I even took a photo of it :-)

Later ... on our return home we walked Maeve the Deerhound down to the seafront at Carnoustie and back through the town. Maeve got hot and panted a lot. She has since drunk much freshly drawn water and had a sleep (still sleeping truth be told) as is her way. All of this exercise made room for lunch. There are plans afoot for a carry out Chinese evening meal. There is pink Cava in the fridge. I predict sleeping in front of the telly thereafter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.