My Happy Places

No matter what happens -- even the recent incomprehensible, disastrous election results -- I find comfort in Village Books right here in Bellingham, in the Fairhaven neighborhood.

There is something about walking into an independent bookstore like this one that makes my heart rejoice. No corporation decides what books may be sold here; the book buyers decide, and they live right here and know what local residents enjoy reading.

I can vouch for The Soul of an Octopus, on the righthand side -- one of the most interesting books I've read this year! I also enjoyed The Relic Master, on the lower left, and want to read the book next to it, Gloria Steinem's My Life on the Road.

Books like these, unlike politics, never fail to please.

(Sorry to be behind on your journals -- I'll be away all day Saturday and a good part of Sunday too, but hope to catch up soon!)

Blip 1687

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.