Today's Special

By Connections

Seattle Buzz!

I've had a marvelous, very long day in Seattle with my daughter M today! 

It began with some shopping, followed by lunch at our favorite Thai restaurant (very near Seattle Art Museum, for any locals reading this), 
and then an amazing flamenco performance, "The Silences of the Dance," presented in collaboration with Madrid’s Fundación Conservatorio Flamenco Casa Patas, at Benaroya Hall. 

We had prime seats, my (early) Christmas gift to M, and I'm so glad we did, as I'd never seen flamenco dance before, and now I want to see much, much more! The power, grace, and passion are compelling, and the strength and energy of the dancers truly amazed me. The guitarist and two male vocalists matched the dancers in artistry and fervor, and I hardly dared to breathe for fear I would miss something! This article about their appearance in Miami, Florida, has more information on the group and also a brief video of their show, although it doesn't begin to do justice to the intensity of the dance.

There is so much to see in downtown Seattle, and with blessedly mild weather (for November), we did quite a bit of walking -- and I ended up with more than 11,000 steps on my Fitbit, an added bonus!

I'm having a richly musical weekend, as on Sunday afternoon we're going to the Whatcom Symphony's November concert. First up will be  Alex Klein, principal oboe of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, in Strauss' Concerto in D major for oboe, followed by Beethoven's evocative Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68, also known as the Pastoral Symphony. Nearly two decades ago, when Phil and I blended our LP collections, we were pleased to note that we both owned recordings of that lovely work.

Blip 1688

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.