Steampunk

.... a sub genre of science fiction or science fantasy that incorporates technology and aesthetic designs inspired by 19th-century industrial steam-powered machinery  -  so now you know;  maybe you knew before but I didn't.  

This weekend sees Haworth hosting a 3 day Steampunk event, I had hoped to join a blipmeet there on Sunday but it clashed with previous arrangements so that's why I was there today.  For the main part there was snow, sleet and rain, difficult conditions for taking street shots, and really such a shame for the many who had gone to the trouble of turning out in their finery.

When I couldn't bear any more of the cold I packed my camera away to make my way past the church hall and back to the car. It cost £1 to enter the hall, which entitled me to a cup of tea or coffee and for another £1 I had one of the most delicious hot mince pies I've ever tasted.  People seemed to have traveled there from far and wide and something which amused me was seeing notices in the church written in Japanese  -   although I don't suppose visitors from Japan would have just popped in for the weekend. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.