4 JULI 1932

I found this photo of a performance, play or revue perhaps, in one of the photoalbums of Piet Hein's mother. I liked it immediately, how strangely do these extraordinary masks work. My mother-in-law had travelled from "Oost-Indië", at that time a dutch colony, with her parents to Holland, to start her study Chemistry in Leiden. She became a member of the VVSL, the female students association. And every year there were plays and other festivities.
I don't think she did perform in one of the plays, she never mentioned it anyway.
When she was an elderly woman she and I leaved through her albums now and then, mostly the ones from her life in Indonesia. The albums  dark brown and the photos so little. We keep them in the basement in The Hague, and before we travelled to Germany I took this one with me.
I found it such a silly scene. Great for this seventh Silly Saturday.

For the first time since the beginning of the week Piet Hein and I went for a short walk. The sun had shone almost all day, and it did not seem too cold to try it. We just walked to the Weser, all went well. I am glad I now feel so much better. Although I am prepared to be careful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.